The requirements for a handgun purchase in Douglas County are that you must:
If you meet the above requirements, you will then need to make application for a certificate to:
There is a $5.00 fee due when application is made and a criminal history check will be performed. If the certificate is issued, it is valid statewide for three years. This can be done at the Douglas County Sheriff's Office 156th & West Maple location only, Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.
With certificate in hand you then can go to the dealer of your choice and select the weapon you wish to purchase. The dealer will then give you the paperwork necessary to register the handgun with the Omaha Police Department. The firearm will be delivered to you after you return with the registration card.
The Omaha Police Department is located at 15th and Howard Street and the front desk hours are 7 am to 10 pm daily. The police department conducts an additional criminal history check that can take from 20 minutes to 10 days to complete. The fee for the registration is $15.00.
Applications to receive a permit to purchase a handgun may be made at:
Douglas County Sheriff Records Division 1616 Leavenworth St. (SW Corner of 16th and Leavenworth St.) Omaha, NEPhone: 402-599-2608
The Douglas County Law Enforcement Center
Applications will be taken between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M. Monday through Friday ONLY. Applications will NOT be accepted on Saturdays, Sundays or Holidays.
Gun Permit Fee: $5.00
This permit is to PURCHASE, LEASE, RENT, or TRANSFER OWNERSHIP of a HANDGUN ONLY.
Concealed Carry Permits are accepted as Purchase Permits in the State of Nebraska.
For information on the Nebraska Concealed Handgun Permit Act, contact your local office of the Nebraska State Patrol.